Listen: Music New Music

Listen | WHITNEY release two new singles ‘MEMORY’ and ‘COUNTY LINES’

WHITNEY - Photo Credit: Tonje Thilesen

WHITNEY give us a taste of their new album with two new tracks, ‘MEMORY’ and ‘COUNTY LINES’.

‘MEMORY’ is a lively pop groove, while ‘COUNTY LINES’ uses a slick piano ballad with Julien Ehrlich’s falsetto.

According to the band, ‘MEMORY’ is about someone processing and ultimately tolerating their apprehension of death. While ‘COUNTRY LINES’ is more of a contemporary heartbreak ballad.

“Many of our favorite musicians and peers put their mark on COUNTY LINES . Both Rob Moose and Sam Gendel contributed integral ideas to the arrangement and our bandmates Will Miller and Ziyad Asrar also helped us to get the song into its final form. We’re infinitely grateful to them and proud of what we all made.“


The beginnings of the new album “SPARK” go back to the feelings of their debut album “Light Upon the Lake” in 2016 and sophomore “Forever Turned Around” three years later. The duo of WHITNEY, Max and Julien, knew intense transformation was needed following the pandemic – Julien moved to Portland to clear his head after the end of a year-long relationship, Max also escaped the lengthy Chicago winter to join his best friend and co-writer. Over the next 14 months, they operated with alacrity and perseverance reminiscent they felt from those early days, forming the single ‘Real Love’ from this period along with other tracks that went on to be recorded at sessions in Texas.

The new album “SPARK” is out 16 September via Secretly Canadian.