Features Music

Music | RTÉ Choice Music Prize – Irish Song of the Year 2018 Shortlist announced

RTÉ Choice Music Prize 2018 Song Names.

The shortlist for this year’s RTÉ Choice Music Prize, Irish Song of the Year 2018 was announced today on RTÉ 2FM.

The shortlist is as follows:

Fontaines D.C. – ‘Too Real’

Niall Horan – ‘On The Loose’

Hozier (feat. Mavis Staples) – ‘Nina Cried Power’

Gavin James – ‘Always’

Laoise – ‘Again’

Mango X Mathman feat. Day_S – ‘Lord Hear Us’

Picture This – ‘One Drink’

Pillow Queens – ‘Gay Girls’

Saint Sister – ‘Causing Trouble (Kormac Remix Feat. Jafaris)’

Wild Youth – ‘Can’t Move On’

The event, in association with IMRO & IRMA

To vote for the RTÉ Choice Music Prize, Irish Song of the Year 2017, visit   https://2fm.rte.ie/rte-choice-music/.  Votes are limited to one per person per day. Only votes cast in the Republic of Ireland will be counted. Voting closes at midnight on Sunday 3 March.

Now in its 14th edition, the event will see nine of the acts involved from Album of the Year shortlist performing on the evening

The winning album and song of the year will be announced at the RTÉ Choice Music Prize live event in Vicar Street, Dublin on Thursday 7 March 2019 and broadcast live on RTÉ 2FM in a special four-hour extended show from 7-11pm.

A special television programme of the event will be broadcast shortly afterwards on RTÉ2 presented by Eoghan McDermott and Bláthnaid Treacy.

RTÉ Choice Music Prize “Conversations” will return and take place during the day on the 7th with Culture Ireland funding the attendance of influential overseas Industry executives to attend the panels and live event that night.

Tickets for the Choice Music Prize live event are on sale now from all Ticketmaster outlets and from www.ticketmaster.ie priced €28.00 including booking fee.