Music New Music

Music | New Music Thursday – 13 July 2017


Irish indie thrillists, The Academic have announced the release of ‘Bear Claws’. The single is the first from the band who have been busy in Los Angeles and elsewhere recording their anticpated long player. Early fans of the band will remember this track as an early release before they signed to UMG. Bright future indeed, they also sold out a run of shows over the past 12 months particually in the UK and Ireland.

Summer Heart has been a Swede on the RobMoro radar for some time now. Returning with ‘Hotel Beds’ from a promising upcoming long player, “101”, next month. This track is quite upbeat and jangly throughout.

Rhye makes delicate and sensual music that has been a signature to the rise of his profile in the past four years or so. Fans of James Vincent McMorrow would appreciate this kind of genre, especially since the tracks are carried softly with R&B structures. Without further explaination, listen to the tracks above.

Henry Jamison’s debut album “The Wilds”  is due out in late October. But he has already won the critics over Noisey and NPR’s World Café. Some tour dates in Europe this September with Mt.Wolf before a co-headline show in London with the great Irish act, Rosie Carney in October.

TUSKS is this electro, ambient, yet indie-pop fusion artist that displays cinematic quality to the affectionate lyricism. Title track ‘Dissolve’ is a good indicator of what to expect on 13 October when her debut album comes out.

FAIRCHILD have released new single ‘High As A Kite’ from their upcoming debut album, “So Long and Thankyou, produced by Catherine Marks (Foals, Wolf Alice). The album is duo out on 4 August 2017.

EHCO is the moniker for Wicklow based musician and producer Eoin Whitfield. You might remember him from Irish indie-instrumental outfit, Enemies, who split in recent months to focus on different projects.

Eoin is expected to take this electro-pop project on the road quite soon, which will feature a six-piece live band.

Chesterfield indie quartet, TRASH have released ‘81′, the second track taken from their self-titled EP out next month. A band that are sure to be apart of the rising group of acts like The Magic Gang and The Night Cafe.

Lukas Nelson & Promise Of The Real just signed to Fantasy Records. Lukas dropped new tracks on Rolling Stone recently, so it felt right to drop one of them, ‘Set Me Down on a Cloud’.

The album will be dropping on Fantasy Records on 25 August 2017.