Music Read:

Music | IMRO Live Music Venue of the Year winners announced

Andrea Keogh accepting the IMRO Live Music Venue 2015 Award on behalf of The Set Theatre, Kilkenny with Paddy McKenna, Steve Lindsey, Keith Donald, Victor Finn and Johnny Lappin.

This evening, the much-anticipated eighth IMRO Live Music Venue of the Year Awards were held at the Irish Music Rights Organisation Headquarters in Dublin.

The award for National Live Music Venue of the Year 2015 (via public vote) went to The Set Theatre, Kilkenny.

IMRO Chairman Keith Donald said of the awards, voted by over 11,000 IMRO members;

This is our annual chance to give a really big thank-you to promoters and venues across the country. The work they do is invaluable, as young bands and artists can’t build up an audience without them”.

Also picking up accolades for IMRO Live Music Festival of the Year and IMRO Best Small Live Music Festival 2015 were Longitude and Other Voices respectively.

The introduction of two brand new awards; Best Live Music Crew was presented to the gang in Vicar Street while Úna Molloy (Turning Pirate) was presented with her award for Outstanding Contribution to Live Music 2015.

Performances on the night came from The Academic, Saint Sister and Rocstrong.

Other winners in the regional categories included:

Dublin –  Whelans, Wexford St.

Rest of Leinster – The Spirit Store, Dundalk

Munster – Levi’s, Ballydehob

Ulster – Allingham Arms Hotel, Bundoran

Connacht – Monroes, Galway

Hot Press Editor Niall Stokes also gave special commendations, presenting awards to Coughlans (Cork), Dolans (Limerick) and the Hot Press People’s Choice Award for Live Venue, Dublin’s Olympia Theatre.