Music | Meteor Choice Music Prize ‘Album of the Year’ shortlist announced

2015 sees the 10th anniversary of the Meteor Choice Music Prize and it goes from strength to strength as the shortlist for Irish Album of the Year 2014, in association with IMRO and IRMA, has been announced.

The Album of the Year will be selected by the judging panel at the Meteor Choice Music Prize Live Event at Vicar St, Dublin on Thursday, 5 March 2015.

The shortlist is as follows (artists listed in alphabetical order):

Aphex Twin – Syro (Warp)

Delorentos – Night Becomes Light (Universal Ireland)

The Gloaming – The Gloaming (Real World)

Hozier – Hozier (Rubyworks/Universal)

James Vincent McMorrow – Post Tropical (Faction)

Sinead O’ Connor – I’m Not Bossy, I’m The Boss (Nettwerk)

Damien Rice – My Favourite Faded Fantasy (Warner Music)

The Riptide Movement – Getting Through (Universal Ireland)

U2 – Songs of Innocence (Island)

We Cut Corners – Think Nothing (Delphi)

The Meteor Choice Music Prize event will be broadcast live on Today FM in a special four hour extended programme during the Paul McLoone show.

RTE 2 Television will broadcast a one-hour highlights programme of the Meteor Choice Music Prize on Sunday 8 March.

Tickets for the Meteor Choice Music Prize live event will go on sale from all Ticketmaster outlets and from this Friday January 9th, priced €24.00 including booking fee.